International Conference on the Question of Terrorism
Geneva, 19-21 March 1987

The International Conference on the Question of Terrorism convened in Geneva from 19-21 March, 1987 under the auspices of the International Progress Organization. Reports were submitted by experts of philosophy, sociology, political science and international law on the following sub-topics: History and Types of Terrorism; State Terrorism and Liberation Movements; The Media and the Western Conception of Terrorism; The Question of Terrorism within the Framework of International Law.

Among the presidium of the conference were H.E. Marshal Francisco da Costa Gomes, former President of the Republic of Portugal, H.E. General Edgardo Mercado Jarrķn, former Prime Minister, Minister of Defence and Minister of Foreign Affairs of Peru, and General Nino Pasti, former Deputy Supreme Commander of NATO for Nuclear Affairs. The United Nations, the League of Arab States, the International Committee of the Red Cross, the World Council of Churches and other international organizations have sent observers to the conference.

The research papers were examined by a committee of experts consisting (among others) of Nobel Laureate Seįn MacBride (Ireland), the Honorable Ramsey Clark, former U.S. Attorney-General, Dr. Richard Falk (U.S.A.), Professor of International Law at the University of Princeton, Dr. Robert Charvin (France), Honorary Dean of the Faculty of Law at the University of Nice, Dr. Rajab Boudabbous (Libya), Chairman of the Department of Philosophy at the University of Benghazi, Dr. Hans Koechler (Austria), Professor of Philosophy at the University of Innsbruck and President of the International Progress Organization.

On the basis of the papers submitted and of the discussions during the conference the committee of experts has issued the Geneva Declaration on Terrorism which gives a new conceptual and normative framework for the definition of "terrorism" in conformity with the fundamental principles of human rights and international law.

The declaration was subsequently signed by such conference participants as Dr. Johan Galtung (Norway), founder of the International Peace Research Institute, Oslo, Dr. Hans R. Klecatsky (Austria), Professor of Public Law, former Minister of Justice of Austria, Dr. Auguste-Raynald Werner (Switzerland), Professor em. of International Law and Permanent Representative of the I.P.O. to the United Nations in Geneva.